Edmond Becquerel Symposium on December 7, 2020

30 July 2020

The Edmond Becquerel Symposium has been has been held online on December 7, 2020.

Symposium Flyer: click here to open.
Posters: click here to open.

Who was Edmond Becquerel?

Edmond Becquerel was born on March 24, 1820. He conducted his research and teaching at the French Natural History Museum and the National Conservatory of Arts and Crafts and was a member and then president of the French Academy of Sciences. He has made major advances in the study of the effects of light on materials, with in particular the discovery of the photovoltaic effect, the invention of the first color photography process, the study of phosphorescence. His work is recognized around the world. Yet he remained largely unknown in France, unlike his father Antoine and especially his son Henri, discoverer of radioactivity. The celebration of the bicentenary of his birth is an opportunity to pay tribute to a very great forgotten scholar.

The founding article of the discovery of the photovoltaic effect (1839):
Original article
Article translated in English

Organisers and contacts

Daniel Lincot (CNRS-IPVF) : daniel.lincot@cnrs.fr

Bertrand Lavédrine (MNHN) : bertrand.lavedrine@mnhn.fr

International committee of Edmond Becquerel prize : https://www.becquerel-prize.org/about-the-becquerel-prize/

Scientific and advisory board:

  • Edmond Amouyal
  • Olivier Azzola
  • Loïc Barbo
  • Nicolas Barreau
  • Christine Blondel
  • Jean Eric Bourée
  • Gallus Cadonau
  • Michel Cassir
  • Jean-Pierre Chevalier
  • Gilberte Chambaud
  • Xavier Daval
  • Roch Drozdowski-Strehl
  • Angela Grassi
  • Jean François Guillemoles
  • Denis Guthleben
  • Peter Helm
  • Vincent Jacques Le Seigneur
  • André Joffre
  • Anis Jouini
  • Florence Lambert

  • Marie-Angélique Languille
  • Michèle Leduc
  • Thomas Leroux
  • Jean Louis Lazzari
  • Jean-Michel Lourtioz
  • Richard Loyen
  • Joachim Luther
  • Philippe Malbranche
  • Gaetan Masson
  • Wolfgang Palz
  • Paul Rigny
  • Didier Roux
  • Nathanaelle Schneider
  • Hans Schock
  • Victor de Seauve
  • Abdelilah Slaoui
  • Costel Subran
  • Daniel Suchet
  • Jean-Marie Tarascon
  • Bertrand Theys

Organizing committee

Daniel Lincot, Bertrand Lavédrine, Bertrand Theys, Edmond Amouyal, Nathanaëlle Schneider, Jean Eric Bourée, Jean Louis Lazzari, Alexandre Crossay & Géraud Delport

Documentary links

Symposium partners

Need a direct line?

Feel free to contact us for more information about our offers.

  • +33(0)1 69 86 58 60
  • contact@ipvf.fr
Scroll Up