Symposium Program

Edmond Becquerel: A Passion for Light

Online Symposium
Date : December 7 2020.
CET time (UTC+1)

Conference facilitators: Géraud Delport and Alexandre Crossay
Simultaneous translation: Isabelle Brusset, Audrey Kyler and Paul Belle

Symposium Opening

8:30am – 9:00am: Opening

Chairs: Daniel Lincot (CNRS-IPVF, FR) and Bertrand Lavédrine (MNHN-CNRS, FR).

  • Addresses from representatives of the Museum national d’Histoire naturelle (MNHN), Institut Photovoltaïque d’Ile-de-France (IPVF), Conservatoire national des arts et métiers (CNAM), Académie des Sciences and Becquerel Prize Committee:

– Bruno David, President of the MNHN.

– Roch Drozdowski-Strehl, Chief Executive Officer of IPVF.

– Pascale Heurtel, Director of CNAM Libraries.

– Didier Roux, Member of the Académie des Sciences.

– Joachim Luther, Chairman of the Becquerel Prize Committee.

9:00am – 9:45am: Inaugural Session

Chairs: Daniel Lincot (CNRS-IPVF, FR) and Bertrand Lavédrine (MNHN-CNRS, FR).

  • A Passion for Extreme Light, Gérard Mourou (Nobel Prize in Physics 2018, École polytechnique). 20 min
  • Rediscovery of Edmond Becquerel, a great experimenter, Christine Blondel (CNRS). 20 min

Edmond Becquerel’s Contributions

9:45am – 10:30am: Photovoltaics

Chairs: Jean-Éric Bourée (CNRS, FR) and Jim Sites (Colorado State University, US, IEEE William Cherry Awardee 2020).

  • The electrochemical actinometer and the discovery of the photovoltaic effect, Jérôme Fatet (Université de Limoges). 20 min
  • Modern interpretation of the photovoltaic effect discovery, Daniel Lincot (CNRS-IPVF). 20 min

10:30am – 11:15am: Photography

Chairs: Edmond Amouyal (CNRS-EP, FR) and Hynd Remita (Univ. Paris Saclay, FR).

  • Edmond Becquerel and photography, Bertrand Lavédrine, (MNHN-CNRS). 20 min
  • The origin of colour of Edmond Becquerel’s photochromatic images, Victor de Seauve (MNHN-CNRS). 10 min
  • The color photography of Edmond Becquerel and quantum mechanics, Lucia Reining, Francesco Sottile (École polytechnique). 10 min

11:15am – 12:00pm: Phosphorescence and luminescence

Chairs: Jean-Louis Lazzari (CNRS, FR) and Laurie Peter (Univ. Bath, GB).

  • The phosphoroscope of Edmond Becquerel: The reconstructed experiment, Guilhem Gallot (École polytechnique). 20 min
  • From phosphorescence to ultimate solar cell efficiency, Jean-François Guillemoles (CNRS-IPVF). 20 min

12:00pm – 12:30pm: Exchanges – Discussion

12:30pm – 2:30pm: Invited video testimonies (accessed in parallel)

Olivier Azzola (École polytechnique, FR): The Becquerels at the Museum of École polytechnique.

Andreas Bett (ISE Fraunhofer, DE, Becquerel Prize Awardee 2009): Up and Downs in Photovoltaics.

Laeticia Brottier (DualSun, FR): The testimony of a young entrepreneur.

Gallus Cadonau (Solar Agentur Switzerland, CH): Plus Energy Buildings.

Gérard Emptoz (President of the History Commission of SEIN , FR) and Olivier Mousson (President of SEIN, FR): Edmond Becquerel and the Society for Encouraging National Industry (SEIN).

Édouard de Saint-Ours (IDEES – University of St Andrews, GB): The reception of Edmond Becquerel’s incomplete colour photography process.

Michael Graetzel (EPFL, CH): From Photosynthesis to Dye Sensitized Solar Cells.

Michael Graetzel (EPFL, CH): The Genesis and Rise of Molecular Photovoltaics and Perovskite Solar Cells.

Martin Green (UNSW, AU, IEEE William Cherry Awardee 1990): The grand history and future of Silicon Solar Cells.

Makoto Konagai (Tokyo City University, JP): Looking back on the innovative solar cell development in Japan.

Daniel Lincot (CNRS-IPVF, FR): Presentation of the edition in french of Wolfgang Palz’ Book « The Triumph of the Sun: The Energy of the New Century ».

Bernard McNelis (University of Southampton, GB): Bob Hill and the recognition of Edmond Becquerel in photovoltaics.

Shigeru Niki (AIST, JP) : to be announced.

Laurie Peter (Bath University, GB): Construction and use of a phosphoroscope at Fritz Haber Institute in Berlin (1972-1975).

Jim Sites (Colorado State University, US, IEEE William Cherry Awardee 2020): Evolution of Thin Films Photovoltaics.

Dick Swanson (Stanford University, US, IEEE William Cherry Awardee 2002,  Becquerel Prize Awardee 2006): Photovoltaics since Becquerel, the first 181 years as prelude.

Pierre Verlinden (Amrock, AU, IEEE William Cherry Awardee 2016,  Becquerel Prize Awardee 2019): From Edmond Becquerel experiments to reaching 1 Terawatt of cumulative Photovoltaic installation by 2022.

Jean-Marie Voignier (Amis du Musée de Chatillon-Coligny, FR): Guided visit of the Becquerel’s history at Chatillon-Coligny Museum.

Takahiro Wada (Ryokoku, JP): Development of CIS solar cells from the perspective of materials scientist.

Edmond Becquerel’s Legacy

2:30pm – 2:45pm: Session opening

Chair: Hans Schock (HZB, DE, Becquerel Prize Awardee 2010).

  • The Becquerel Prize, Joachim Luther (Chairman of the Becquerel Committee, ISE Fraunhofer), Becquerel Prize Awardee 2005. 15 min

2:45pm – 3:35pm: Recent development in photovoltaics

Chairs: Joachim Luther (ISE Fraunhofer, DE) and Nathanaelle Schneider (CNRS-IPVF, FR).

  • The advent of Perovskite solar cells, Henry Snaith (Oxford PV) , Becquerel Prize Awardee 2020. 30 min
  • Photovoltaic applications today and tomorrow, from industry to artworks, Christophe Ballif (CSEM-EPFL), Becquerel Prize Awardee 2016. 15 min

3:35pm – 3:55pm: Break

3:55pm – 4:30pm: State of the art of photovoltaics deployment

Andreas Bett (ISE Fraunhofer, DE, Becquerel Prize Awardee 2009).

  • General overview, Gaëtan Masson (Institut Becquerel, Bruxelles). 15 min
  • The photovoltaic industry in France in 2020, Xavier Daval (SER), Richard Loyen (ENERPLAN). 20 min

4:30pm – 5:00pm: Exchanges – Discussion

5:00pm – 5:30pm: Closing Session

Takahiro Wada (Univ. Ryukoku, JP).

  • – Catherine Langlais, President of the French Society of Physics (SFP). 10 min
  • – Paolo Frankl, Director of renewable energies in International Energy Agency (IEA). 10 min
  • Closing address : Bertrand Lavédrine, Daniel Lincot. 10 min

Languages: French and English with simultaneous translation
On line access: ZOOM virtual conference tool
(access details will be provided to all registered participants)

Contact us